TCSP Participants

TCSP banner

TCSP Management

Name Institution Role Email
Ramesh Kakar NASA-HQ TCSP Program Manager ramesh.k.kakar@nasa.gov
Jeff Halverson NASA-HQ Deputy Program Manager halverson@agnes.gsfc.nasa.gov
Cheryl Yuhas NASA-HQ Sub-orbital Science Program Manager Cheryl.l.yuhas@nasa.gov
Mike Gaunce NASA-ARC Project Manager

mgaunce@arc.nasa.gov

Robbie Hood NASA-HQ Mission Scientist robbie.hood@nasa.gov
Gerry Heymsfield NASA-GSFC Mission Scientist

heymsfield@agnes.gsfc.nasa.gov

Edward Zipser Univ-Utah Mission Scientist ezipser@met.utah.edu


Back to top

NOAA Partners

Name Institution Instrument/Proposal Email
Frank Marks
Director NOAA-HRD
NOAA-AOML   frank.marks@noaa.gov
Robert Rogers
NOAA Field Campaign Manager
NOAA-AOML Hurricane Research of Microphysical Parameterizations Robert.Rogers@noaa.gov
Mike Black
Deputy Field Campaign Manager
NOAA NOAA-P3 Michael.Black@noaa.gov



Back to top

International Partners

Name Institution Email
Paul Manso
Director of IMN
Instituto Meteorologico Nacionale (IMN)  
Luis Camacho
TCSP Project Coordinator for DGAC
Dirección General de Aviación Civil LCamacho@dgac.go.cr
Oliver Gomez
TCSP Project Coordinator for CENAT
Centro Nacional de Alta Tecnologia (CENAT) ogomez@conare.ac.cr
Werner Stoltz
Co-I
Centro Nacional de Alta Tecnologia (CENAT) wstolz@meteoro.imn.ac.cr
Jorge Andrés Diaz
Co-I
Centro Nacional de Alta Tecnologia (CENAT) diazchaverri@racsa.co.cr
Juan Valdés
Co-I
Universidad Nacional Autonoma jvaldes@una.ac.cr
Jessica Valverde Rica
Co-I
Universidad Nacional Autonoma jvalverde@web.de
Walter Fernández
Co-I
Universidad Nacional Autonoma wfer@cosmos.ucr.ac.cr
Jorge Amador
Co-I
Universidad de Costa Rica jamador@cariari.ucr.ac.cr
Eladio Zárate
Co-I
Universidad de Costa Rica elzarate2003@yahoo.com
Porfirio Machado
Colloborator
Instituto Costarricense de Electricidad  

Back to top

ER-2 Research Aircraft Management

Name Institution Role Email
Mike Kaptizke NASA-Dryden Mission Manager mike.s.kapitzke@nasa.gov
Jeannette Van Den Bosch WSTF-NS3 Mission Manager jeannette.vandenbosch-2@nasa.gov
Jan Nystrom ARC-BAERI ER-2 Aircraft Coordinator,
Mobile Pilot
jan.nystrom@mail.dfrc.nasa.gov
Dee Porter NASA Dryden/
Lockheed-Martin
Lead Pilot dee.porter@mail.dfrc.nasa.gov
Dave Wright   Pilot  
Ed Vadnais NASA Dryden/
Lockheed-Martin
Aircraft Manager ed.vadnais@mail.dfrc.nasa.gov
Jim Barnes NASA Dryden/
Lockheed-Martin
Crew Chief james.barnes@dfrc.nasa.gov

Back to top

Instrument Team

Name Institution Research Area Instrument Email

Robbie Hood,
PI

NASA-MSFC Tropical Cyclone Rainfall,
Genesis and Intensity
AMPR robbie.hood@nasa.gov
Dan Cecil,
Co-I
UAH Tropical Cyclone Rainfall,
Genesis and Intensity
AMPR daniel.cecil@msfc.nasa.gov
Frank LaFontaine,
Co-I
  Tropical Cyclone Rainfall,
Genesis and Intensity
AMPR Frank.LaFontaine@msfc.nasa.gov
Mike Botts,
Co-I
UAH Tropical Cyclone Rainfall,
Genesis and Intensity
AMPR mike.botts@nsstc.uah.edu
Anthony Guillory, PI NASA-GSFC   Aerosonde anthony.r.guillory@nasa.gov
Dave Easmunt, Project Manager NASA-GSFC   Aerosonde David.P.Easmunt@nasa.gov
Greg Holland Aerosonde North America   Aerosonde gholland@ucar.edu
Nick Logan Aerosonde North America   Aerosonde n.logan@aerosonde.com
Brenda Mulac Aerosonde North America   Aerosonde b.mulac@aerosonde.com
Ryan Vu Aerosonde North America   Aerosonde r.vu@aerosonde.com
Gerry Heymsfield,
PI
NASA-GSFC RE-2 Radars: Tropical Cyclone Genesis Cirrus EDOP; CRS heymsfield@agnes.gsfc.nasa.gov
Lihua Li
Co-I
Univ. MD
Baltimore/
GEST
RE-2 Radars: Tropical Cyclone Genesis Cirrus EDOP; CRS lihua@agnes.gsfc.nasa.gov
Lin Tian
(Co-I)
Univ-MD
Baltimore/
GEST
Radar Microphysical Retrievals EDOP; CRS tian@agnes.gsfc.nasa.gov
Larry Belcher SSAI Radar Microphysical Retrievals EDOP; CRS belcher@agnes.gsfc.nasa.gov
Shannon Rodriguez NASA-GSFC RE-2 Radars: Tropical Cyclone Genesis Cirrus EDOP; CRS shannon.rodriguez-1@nasa.gov
Edward Zenker SSAI RE-2 Radars: Tropical Cyclone Genesis Cirrus EDOP; CRS edz@agnes.gsfc.nasa.gov
Bjorn Lambrigtsen,
PI
JPL Hurricane Research HAMSR bjorn.h.lambrigtsen@jpl.nasa.gov
Richard Blakeslee,
PI
NASA-MSFC Lightning and Electric Field Measurements LIP rich.blakeslee@msfc.nasa.gov
Monte Bateman,
Co-I
USRA Lightning and Electric
Field Measurements
LIP monte.bateman@msfc.nasa.gov
Doug Mach,
Co-I
UAH Lightning and Electric
Field Measurements
LIP douglas.mach@msfc.nasa.gov
Jeffrey Myers,
PI
NASA-ARC-UCSC   MAS jmyers@mail.arc.nasa.gov
Roseanne Dominquez,
Co-I
NASA-ARC-UCSC   MAS rdominguez@mail.arc.nasa.gov
M.J. Mahoney,
PI
JPL MTP support for TCSP MTP michael.j.mahoney@jpl.nasa.gov
Richard F. Denning JPL MTP support for TCSP MTP Richard.F.Denning@jpl.nasa.gov
Lawrence C. Freudinger, PI NASA-DRFC   REVEAL l.freudinger@dfrc.nasa.gov
Carl E. Sorenson,
Co-I
Arcata Associates   REVEAL carl.sorenson@.dfrc.nasa.gov
Frank Cutler NASA-DRFC   REVEAL Frank.W.Cutler@nasa.gov
Gloria Fields Analytical Services & Materials   REVEAL gloria.fields@dfrc.nasa.gov
Sky Yarbrough Analytical Services & Materials   REVEAL sky.yarbrough@dfrc.nasa.gov
Kendall Mauldin NASA -DRFC   REVEAL Kendall.D.Mauldin@nasa.gov
Matthew J. Miller Network Computing   REVEAL mjm@creare.com
Eric Friets Network Computing   REVEAL emf@creare.com

Back to top

Research Investigators

Name Institution Research Area Email
Mark Bourassa, PI FSU-COAPS Tropical Cyclone Genesis bourassa@coaps.fsu.edu
Phil Cunningham
(Co-I)
FSU-COAPS Tropical Cyclone Genesis cunningham@met.fsu.edu
Paul Reasor
(Co-I)
FSU-COAPS Tropical Cyclone Genesis reasor@met.fsu.edu
Scott Braun, PI NASA-GSFC Hurricane Formation
and Evolution
braun@agnes.gsfc.nasa.gov
Michael Montgomery
(Co-I)
CSU Hurricane Formation and Evolution mtm@atmos.colostate.edu
Dan Cecil, PI UAH Tropical Cyclone Precipitation daniel.cecil@msfc.nasa.gov
William Frank, PI PSU Wave Effect on
Tropical Cyclogenesis
frank@ems.psu.edu
Paul Ginoux, PI NOAA-GFDL Tropical Cyclone Ice Nucleation Paul.Ginoux@noaa.gov
Constantin Andronache
(Co-I)
Boston College Tropical Cyclone Ice Nucleation andronac@bc.edu
Vaughan Phillips
(Co-I)
Princeton Univ. & NOAA-GFDL Tropical Cyclone Ice Nucleation Vaughan.Phillips@noaa.gov
Michael Goodman, PI NASA-MSFC Tropical Cloud System Data Management michael.goodman@nasa.gov
Tiruvalam Krishnamurti, PI FSU Assimilation, Ensemble Forecasting and Adaptive Strategies tnk@io.met.fsu.edu
Guoshen Liu, PI FSU Tropical Cyclone Cloud Water and Precipitation liug@met.fsu.edu
Greg McFarquhar, PI Univ.-Illinois Urbana Champaign Microphysical Processes in Hurricane Genesis mcfarq@atmos.uiuc.edu
Matt Gilmore
(Co-I)
Univ.-Illinois Urbana Champaign Microphysical Processes in Hurricane Genesis gilmore@atmos.uiuc.edu

Brian Jewett
(Co-I)

Univ.-Illinois Urbana Champaign Microphysical Processes in Hurricane Genesis jewett@atmos.usuc.edu
Eric Schneider Univ. Illinois Urbana Champaign Student Assistant eschneid@atmos.uiuc.edu
Jerry Straka Univ. Oklahoma School of Meteorology Consultant jstraka@ou.edu
Robert Meneghini, PI NASA-GSFC Airborne Multi-Wavelength Radar Analysis Robert.Meneghini-1@nasa.gov
Liang Lao
(Co-I)
NASA-GSFC Airborne Multi-Wavelength Radar Analysis lliao@neptune.gsfc.nasa.gov
John Molinari, PI SUNY/Albany Convection, Easterly Waves, Intraseasonal Oscillation and Hurricane Pre-cursors molinari@atmos.albany.edu
Eric Ray, PI NOAA-AL Ozone and Water Vapor in Tropical Storm Genesis Eric.Ray@noaa.gov
Robert Rogers, PI NOAA-AOML Hurricane Research of Microphysical Parameterizations Robert.Rogers@noaa.gov
Shyyi Chen
(Co-I)
UM/RSMAS Hurricane Research of Microphysical Parameterizations schen@rsmas.miami.edu
Andrew Heymsfield
(Co-I)
NCAR Hurricane Research of Microphysical Parameterizations heyms1@ucar.edu
Gerry Heymsfield
(Co-I)
NASA-GSFC Hurricane Research of Microphysical Parameterizations heymsfield@agnes.gsfc.nasa.gov
Karen Rosenlof, PI NOAA-AL Ozone and Water Vapor in Tropical Storm Genesis Karen.H.Rosenlof@noaa.gov
Eric Ray
(Co-I)
NOAA-AL Ozone and Water Vapor in Tropical Storm Genesis Eric.Ray@noaa.gov
Wayne Schubert, PI CSU Observational, Theoretical and Modeling Research waynes@atmos.colostate.edu
Paul Ciesielski, Research Assistant Colorado State Observational, Theoretical and Modeling Research paulc@atmos.colostate.ed
Brian McNoldy Colorado State Research Assistant Brian.McNoldy@ColoState.EDU
Henry Selkirk, PI ARC-BAERI Vertical Structure and Moisture, Winds, and Temperature hselkirk@mail.arc.nasa.gov
Randy May
(Co-I)
MayComm Instruments,LL Vertical Structure and Moisture , Winds, and Temperature rmay@maycomm.com
Holger Vömel
(Co-I)
Univ Colorado Vertical Structure and Moisture , Winds, and Temperature Holger.Voemel@colorado.edu
Chris Snyder, PI NCAR High-Resolution of Cloud-System Simulations in Tropical-Storm Genesis chriss@ucar.edu
Chris Davis
(Co-I)
NCAR High-Resolution of Cloud-System Simulations in Tropical-Storm Genesis cdavis@ucar.edu
Joe Turk, PI NRL Aircraft Remote Sensing Data Fusion and Precipitation Analysis turk@nrlmry.navy.mil
Jeff Hawkins
(Co-I)
NRL Aircraft Remote Sensing Data Fusion and Precipitation Analysis hawkins@nrlmry.navy.mil
Chris Velden, PI Univ-WI Madison Upper Troposphere Characterization during Tropical Cyclone Genesis chrisv@ssec.wisc.edu
Howard Berger
(Co-I)
Univ-WI Madison Upper Troposphere Characterization during Tropical Cyclone Genesis howardb@ssec.wisc.edu
Dave Stettner
(Co-I)
Univ-WI Madison Upper Troposphere Characterization during Tropical Cyclone Genesis stettner@ssec.wisc.edu
Da-Lin Zhang, PI Univ-MD College Park Tropical Cyclone Numerical Studies dalin@atmos.umd.edu
Edward Zipser, PI Univ-Utah Convective Cloud Properties and Effects on Tropical Cyclogeneis and Cirrus Production ezipser@met.utah.edu

Zhaoxia Pu
(Co-I)

Univ-Utah Convective Cloud Properties and Effects on Tropical Cyclogeneis and Cirrus Production pu@met.utah.edu
Chuntao Liu
Graduate Associate
Univ-Utah Convective Cloud Properties and Effects on Tropical Cyclogeneis and Cirrus Production iuct@met.utah.edu

Back to top

NASA Ames Earth Science Project Office Management

Name Institution Role Email
Kent Shiffer NASA-ARC Co- Project Manager kshiffer@arc.nasa.gov
Mike Craig NASA-ARC Co- Project Manager mcraig@mail.arc.nasa.gov
Sue Tolley NASA-ARC/BAERI Project Coordinator stolley@mail.arc.nasa.gov
Quincy Allison NASA-ARC/BAERI Logistics/Network Manager qallison@mail.arc.nasa.gov
Greg Klinedinst NASA-ARC/BAERI Network Support gklinedinst@mail.arc.nasa.gov

Back to top

Forecasters

Name Institution Email PI
Cerese Albers FSU calbers@met.fsu.edu Tiruvalam Krishnamurti
Luis Blacutt Univ-Utah blacutt@met.utah.edu Ed Zipser
Bill Cottrill FSU cottrill@met.fsu.edu Tiruvalam Krishnamurti
Paula Hennon Ohio State Univ hennon.7@osu.edu Jeff Halverson
Brandon Kerns Univ-Utah bkerns@met.uah.edu Ed Zipser
T.N. Krishnamurti FSU tnk@io.met.fsu.edu Tiruvalam Krishnamurti
Leela Ramaswamy FSU lramas@huey.met.fsu.edu Tiruvalam Krishnamurti

Back to top

Web/Data Information Team

Name Institution Role Email
Michael Goodman NASA-MSFC Data Center Principal Investigator michael.goodman@nasa.gov
Danny Hardin UAH Web Development Team Leader danny.hardin@msfc.nasa.gov
Marilyn Drewry UAH Database/Archive Manager marilyn.drewry@msfc.nasa.gov
Sherry Harrison UAH Archive sharrison@itsc.uah.edu
Steve Jones UAH Archive sjones@itsc.uah.edu
Mary Nair UAH Web Developer mnair@itsc.uah.edu
Philip Parker UAH Web Developer pparker@itsc.uah.edu
Matt He UAH Web Developer mhe@itsc.uah.edu
Kira Gee UAH Web Developer kgee@itsc.uah.edu
Lynne Carver UAH Web Developer lcarver@itsc.uah.edu

Back to top

Have you used our data? Register for updates